I remember watching Pumpkin Patch when I was younger & nagging my mum to make me some fritters. I think ever since, I’ve loved all forms of squash vegetables. They are THE comfort vegetable food & I’m all about comfort.

I initially wanted to just make some cinnamon butternut fritters, but then I became hungry. So, I went out & got some fresh kingklip fillet & decided to make some savory butternut & corn fritters too!

Sweet cinnamon butternut fritters

Ingredients:
3/4 cup mashed butternut squash
3 tsp castor sugar
1 tablespoon honey
1 tsp cinnamon powder
1/2 tsp ginger powder
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
1 small egg

Makes 10 

Mix all ingredients in order of the list above, together. It should resemble an easy to pour batter.

Heat a frying pan with canola oil up to 1/2 cm. Basically you going to shallow fry the fritters in medium to high heat.

Spoon batter into frying pan, bearing in mind the batter does spread. In 33cm frying pan I managed 3 at a time. Fry for 45 seconds on each side, twice!

image

Drain excess oil on roller towel or brown paper.

You can keep it in the oven warmer till you are ready to serve.

Just before serving, mix some cinnamon & sugar & sprinkle over warm fritters. A squeeze of lemon & it’s the perfect tea time treat.

image

Savory butternut & corn fritters

Ingredients:
1 cup mashed butternut squash
1/4 cup creamy style corn
1/4 cup grated white cheddar cheese
A handful of fresh coriander/dhanya
2 tbsp finely chopped white onion
1 cup all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
2 small eggs
1 tsp smoked red chilli flakes
1 tsp fine salt
1 tsp mixed dried herbs

Makes 10 

Mix all ingredients in order of the list above together. It should resemble an easy to pour batter.

Follow the same frying method above.

imageimage

I prepared a Lemon Butter Kingklip fillet for dinner, which was accompanied by my savory fritter.

image

image
Helping me write this blog post (hours later) is a cinnamon fritter & a cup of earl grey tea.

Bon Appetit
faymissfay

