This is part 1 of 3 of the 3 course meal I’d served this last weekend. I’d like to dedicate this post and the next two posts to two fantastic women in my life, Samantha & Anisha. Samantha is like the guardian angel sister every girl needs. Always filled with gentle yet sage advice on life & career. The nicest person, a strong successful career woman and a mother & wife too. The quentessential woman. We don’t always get to see each other or chat, but out of the blue on the suckiest day, an email as bright as the sun will appear in your mailbox from Sammykins. I was so fortunate to spend the better part of the last Saturday with her & her gorgeous bubbly 6 month baby boy.

On Sunday I was doubly lucky to have my very dear friend Anisha & her equally wonderful fiancรฉ, Ruw, over for the lunch I am going to share with you. Anisha was my very first HR manager and she may as well be my older sister who has looked after me well enough since I was 21. Another strong, successful, formidable woman. The epitome of youth & class. Always ready to sternly guide me when necessary and my cushion for when I stumbled with all the newly grown up things I have encountered over the years. She’s one of the people I know I cannot imagine this life without. A consistent friend with a heart so big that she radiates with beauty from the inside out.

Both these ladies have witnessed all the major changes in my adult life & never once have they envied any success, instead they have spurred me onward and upward. Always complimentary and encouraging. Food has long being a passion & a dream of mine and of most of the people close to me, their response to this new journey I am on has warmed my heart as they seem to genuinely support me and are truly motivating. So if you ladies read this, thank you so very much! You both mean so much to me!

OK, now for Part 1: Ravioli Making

Pasta dough:
1 cup all purpose flour and 1/2 cup on stand-by
1 large eg
1 tsp fine salt
1/4 cup water

image

Mix all the ingredients together by kneading the dough well and adding more flour in order to make the dough smooth, and to work out the stickiness. The dough should not be sticky. This takes a bit of arm muscle work.

Once the dough is smooth, wrap it in some plastic cling wrap and let it rest at cool room temperature for half an hour.

Whilst the dough is resting, prepare a filling:

I made a 3 cheese, prawn and fig filling. I chopped it in the blended to make it easier to fill.

Prawn filling:

1 cup of small peeled prawns (I didn’t bother to get meaty large prawns as I intended on mincing them anyway)
1 tsp crushed garlic
1 tsp chopped chives
1/2 tsp smoked red chilli flakes
1 tbsp chopped fresh coriander
2 tbsp reduced fig oil
1 tbsp chopped fresh yellow paprika
Salt to taste

Sautรฉ the above ingredients in 1 tbsp of butter & 1 tbsp of olive oil for 5 minutes. Let it cool for 5 minutes before adding to the blender.

Add 2 tbsp of cheddar, Parmesan & feta cheese into the blender & using a chopping setting. Blitz till it is a coarse ‘mince’ but not too fine.

image

Once your pasta dough has rested, you can put it through a pasta machine on the finest/narrowest setting to get it paper thin. Or, like me you can put some muscle into it and roll it out with a rolling pin by dividing the dough into smaller pieces to roll out. I made 3 different folds, 2 that required a square sheet and 1 that needed to be cut round. You can use a pizza cutter and cookie cutter respectively to get those shapes for folding.

Fill the ravioli with the prawn and fold into a desired style.

image

There are a number of ravioli folds you can google. I remembered a Turkish manti fold from a Turkish cooking class I attended recently. There’s also tortellini style, Samoosa twist style… All you need to do is Google ravioli or wanton folding styles for some tutorials. I really just did my own thing and it worked out ok. Some recipes call for water to seal. I found that I didn’t really need it and simple gentle pressing of the dough together sealed it.

Alternative ravioli fillings: feta and spinach, mince (i did some with the ostrich mince I will use in part 3 of 3 of my next posts as I had left over dough after my prawn filling finished, mushroom, cream cheese, chicken and corn… anything that won’t seep out and which and will taste yum inside pasta.

The lovely thing is that you can freeze the ravioli & I suggest using within a month. When you are ready to cook it, boil some water and bring it to a simmer. Pop the frozen ravioli in for 4-5 minutes on medium heat. Prior to cooking the ravioli, prepare a sauce to serve it in. I made a crayfish/lobster bisque with a Thai twist, which is Part 2 of 3 ๐Ÿ™‚

Just a sneak preview of the 3 course lunch… Recipes to follow if you’re interested!

image

Bon Appetit

faymissfay

