A quick post this one. One of my favorite things in the world is potatoes, my hips surely do love them. I’d say a wee bit too much. So the next best thing. Sweet potatoes & even better sweet potato oven fries. Now I used to be all too eager to buy the frozen type until I realized the crispy coating was not all that healthy. So I bring to you a simple, yet healthy recipe.

You can use either white or orange flesh sweet potatoes. I prefer orange.

I used 1 large orange sweet potato so the seasoning needs to be adjusted should you use more than 1.

Preparation Time: 40 minutes (Technically it’s 10 minutes as you just wait and turn for the other 30 minutes.)

Ingredients:
1 large sweet potato
2 pinches of rough sea salt (you can skip this if you are being uber healthy)
1 tsp dried herbs
1 tsp chilli powder
1 pinch of cinnamon
1 tbsp of olive oil

Alternate seasonings: black pepper, paprika, chilli flakes, wasabi powder, mustard powder, garlic powder & cumin.

Instructions:
Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees celsius.

Cut sweet potato into sticks. Try and cut them evenly so that they cook evenly in the oven. (I am clearly not too good at this :/ but mine turn out good nonetheless)

Mix all the ingredients together.

image

image

Coat an oven tray with spray & cook or cover tray with a baking sheet.

image

Spread potatoes evenly on the tray. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, turning every 10 minutes or so for even baking. The time will depend on the cut & evenness of fries. Once it’s starts to brown & crisp you’ll know it’s done.

Season with more herbs or salt (to your preference) once you remove from oven & it’s still hot.

image

I love this just as is with an assortment of ketchup, sweet chilli & Dijon mustard. But also perfect with steak dinner as pictured.

Bon Appetit
faymissfay

